904-255-5211 [email protected]

Jacksonville, FL (July 1, 2019) Each year, the first duty of the new incoming Council President is to assign the leadership roles of the Committees and its members. In doing so, for the 2019-2020 Council Year, Council President Scott Wilson designates Councilman Danny Becton as Chair for the very important Land Use and Zoning Committee (LUZ). Councilman Becton previously served in this role as Chair of LUZ in 2016-2017 appointed by  Previous Council President Lori Boyer and Vice-Chair in 2018-2019. Councilman Becton is the only serving council member who has served on this committee each of the past four years.

“Serving Jacksonville on the Land Use and Zoning Committee is certainly a privilege and to have this leadership role again is definitely an honor,” said Councilman Becton. “This committee is important in that it affects the quality of life and property rights of so many stakeholders including property owners, neighborhoods and residents. Decisions made by this committee are often difficult as they directly affect people’s lives and property. LUZ is different from many other committees as it requires a strict adherence to due process, disclosures, and actions for which members sit as judges.”

According to the COJ website, “the Committee shall consider land use and zoning matters; land, water, habitat and natural resource conservation; building codes; urban renewal; real estate; land, water, freshwater and saltwater wetlands preservation and mitigation; water supply issues as they relate to land use and development practices; comprehensive planning; strategic planning; current planning; growth management and implementation of state statutes regarding same; Planning and Development Department; appeals from Planning Commission and Historic Preservation Commission decisions; road frontage and sign waiver requests; transportation concurrency and mobility; school concurrency; amendments to Jacksonville’s Comprehensive Plan, including all text amendments and Future Land Use Map Amendments; and all related subjects.”

The following Council Members that will join CM Becton on the LUZ committee are:

Councilman Michael Boylan – Vice Chair, Councilman Garrett Dennis, Councilman Al Ferraro, Councilman Reggie Gaffney, Councilwoman Ju’Coby Pittman, and Councilman Randy White.

LUZ Committee Agenda Meeting and Committee Meeting occurs on the first and third Tuesday of every month. Agenda takes place at 1:00 p.m. in the Lynwood Roberts Room, and the LUZ Committee meeting begins at 5:00 pm in Council Chambers.

In addition to the LUZ committee, Councilman Becton was assigned additional roles for the 2019-2020 council year as follows:

  • Member of Transportation, Energy and Utility (TEU) Committee
  • Member of Group Health Benefits Committee
  • Lead Member on the Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) Board
  • Council Liaison to JEA

“It is a privilege to have this opportunity and responsibility for which Council President Wilson assigned me,” Councilman Becton acknowledged. “I look forward to helping Council President Wilson accomplish his goals and to serve him in the capacities for which I can best provide my experience and expertise. I am also excited to lead LUZ and serve the citizens of Jacksonville over this next twelve months.”